Acupuncture


In my journey to try to have a baby, I’ve done a lot of things that I never imagined that I would ever experience including acupuncture and drinking traditional Chinese herbal medicine tea.  I never would have thought that this was a path that I would take until a friend of mine recommended her acupuncturist that she saw while TTC – she got pregnant at 46 and has an adorable child (she used a donor egg).

Going to the acupuncturist is actually one of the highlights of infertility and TTC.  I really enjoy lying on the table and relaxing with my eyes closed listening to soothing music for 45 minutes.  I don’t have to worry about a thing, which is odd considering there are between 5-12 needles sticking out of my body.  But it is.  I’ve complained about different aches and pains separate from TTC and she is able to fix them for me using needles, while at the same time helping to boost my uterine lining.  I love it!

The traditional Chinese medicine teas were scary at first.  I didn’t know what I was drinking and I was supposed to drink three cups a day.  They certainly helped me reach my goals of drinking more fluids every day!  But, like the acupuncture, I grew to enjoy drinking the tea.  It became a ritual for me and three times a day, I took time out to fix my tea, sit in silence and drink it.

Now that I’m on Letrozole, I don’t take the herbs but I’m still enjoying the weekly acupuncture sessions!

2 thoughts on “Acupuncture

  1. Awesome! I felt the same way about the chiropractor while I was going. They do a 3-step process each appointment, including massage before the adjustment. Heaven on earth, even if it didn’t help me get pregnant!

Please share your story

